What are the changes to the MOT test?

From Sunday, May 20 a diesel loophole will be closed, and cars given defects in three new categories to reveal how dangerous it really is.

Testers will grade problems as dangerous, major or minor.

Those with just a minor fault may still be passed, while it will be illegal for a motorist to drive away with a dangerous defect.

The minor faults are flagged on the MOT certificate with other advisory notices.

Diesel particulate filters (DPF) will now also be checked, and you’ll be failed if you’ve had it removed or tampered with.

The smoke test limit will also be slashed.

Other changes to the MOT test include the addition of a check for reverse lights, while brake discs will be inspected to see if they are “significantly or obviously worn”.

Some new items will now be tested during the MOT these include

  • If tyres are obviously under inflated.
  • If brake fluid has been contaminated.
  • For fluid leaks posing an environmental risk.
  •  Brake pad warning lights and if brake pads or discs are missing.

Certain vehicles over 40 years will not need an MoT.

The certificate itself will also change – so any defects under the categories will now be clear and easy to understand.